Father’s Day


Sunday 21st June 2020 – Father’s Day!

We hear a lot these days about how the world has had to stop much of what it called “business as usual”.

So much of so called normality has ground to a halt. Jobs furloughed, events cancelled, travelling prohibited – millions of working adults across the globe put on strict instructions to stay at home.

Yes, in some respects this has felt like utter carnage to our present day society, but to say it has been carnage for all and has been a wholly negative experience would be shortsighted.

I’ve also heard about how many who have been surprised and blessed by the time they now get to spend with their families.

Family dynamics that previously needed urgent attention now have all the time in the world to deal with them, without the space to runaway (Yes, I acknowledge that in this, there are bad situations that have become worse as a result). Facing problems can only be a good thing, right?

What I’m pleased at is that there will millions of fathers who may have either been busy working, exhausted, checked out, discouraged that their spouses interact and relate better to their kids, that will have had an opportunity to reset and re-acquaint with their families.

I’ve been doing some reading recently about how much of an impact a father’s presence has in a household and in their children’s lives.

You can be a father who left their family behind – being totally absent.

You can be busy and desperate to spend more time with them.

You can be busy, and thankful that you don’t – also a kind of absence.

You can be physically present for your kids and still be an absent father when your mind and heart is elsewhere. Why? When we have kids, planned or not, we sign up for a lifelong and whole-self commitment.

Whether we like it or not, we Dads are now, and will forever be an influence on our children’s lives, regardless of what we do.

Let’s call a spade a spade here, that’s frightening!

Not everyone has the best example, or even any, of what a good Dad is. But I do know one thing; what you decide to do with your time, presence, money, words, attitude, body language, self-esteem… that’s all your responsibility.

These will all have influences of their own, but ultimately the buck stops with you and your choices.

So I have a challenge for you. Since you (fathers) out there ARE an influence, be a good one!

  • Don’t try marking yourself against what other Dads do, but start marking yourself against what you believe a good and healthy influence is.
  • Be there for them – in ever aspect of life.
  • Lead them – as a parent, you are the boss, not the overlord. Take responsibility for them, encourage them towards good things.
  • Show them you love them – in every way you can, regardless of their choices.
  • Pray for them.

“Train up a child in the way he should go [teaching him to seek God’s wisdom and will for his abilities and talents], Even when he is old he will not depart from it.”
Proverbs 22:6 AMP

Last thought – I remember watching a movie, some time ago, called Courageous. Go and watch it if you can, but in the movie, the Dads choose to make a resolution in front of their families and each other. I love what it says, and even if it’s not exactly the same as your own beliefs – read it anyway, take note and inspiration from the heart behind it.

I DO solemnly resolve before God to take full responsibility for myself, my wife, and my children.I WILL love them, protect them, serve them, and teach them the Word of God as the spiritual leader of my home.I WILL be faithful to my wife, to love and honour her, and be willing to lay down my life for her as Jesus Christ did for me.I WILL bless my children and teach them to love God with all of their hearts, all of their minds, and all of their strength.I WILL train them to honor authority and live responsibly.I WILL confront evil, pursue justice, and love mercy.I WILL pray for others and treat them with kindness, respect, and compassion.I WILL work diligently to provide for the needs of my family.I WILL forgive those who have wronged me and reconcile with those I have wronged.I WILL learn from my mistakes, repent of my sins, and walk with integrity as a man answerable to God.I WILL seek to honor God, be faithful to His church, obey His Word, and do His will.I WILL courageously work with the strength God provides to fulfill this resolution for the rest of my life and for His glory.As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord. — Joshua 24:15

If you’re a Dad, reading this on or after Sunday – I pray you have a wonderful Father’s Day, that you and your family and blessed and you are celebrated.


Leave a comment